FACULTY | STAFF

BIOMS Faculty


The human body is comprised of a variety of complex, integrated systems. An understanding of the role of these systems with respect to even a limited set of problems, such as the performance of everyday or highly skilled motor activities or the causes and resolution of bone/joint dysfunction, requires experimental approaches from a number of disciplines. As a result, a group of faculty at the University of Delaware assembled with a mission to study the body from an interdisciplinary approach. An understanding of structural integrity along with movement generation is the basis for our Biomechanics and Movement Science (BIOMS) program. The faculty come from backgrounds in physiology, biomechanics, computer science, engineering, motor control and rehabilitation science. Interests range from robotic interfaces for environmental controls for the disabled, to fracture fixation, to understanding of normal and pathological movement.

| A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z |

Robert E. Akins

Professor
Biological Sciences
Robert.Akins@nemours.org
302.651.6811
A. I. duPont Hospital for Children

Elisa S. Arch

Assistant Professor
Kinesiology & Applied Physiology
schranke@udel.edu
302.831.7268
120 Health Science Annex

David A. Barlow

Associate Professor BHAN; Director Center for PreMed and Health Studies; Director CAS Medical Scholars Program
Behavioral Health & Nutrition
barlow@udel.edu
302.831.3030
401 Academy Street

Kenneth E. Barner

Chairperson, Electrical and Computer Engrg ; Charles Black Evans Professor, Electrical and Computer Engrg ; Professor, Ctr Biomechanical Engr Rsch
Electrical and Computer Engrg
barner@udel.edu
302.831.6937
141 Evans Hall

Anjana Bhat

Associate Professor
Physical Therapy
abhat@udel.edu
302.831.7612
210HH Health Science Complex

Stuart Binder-Macleod

Edward L. Ratledge Professor
Physical Therapy
sbinder@udel.edu
302.831.8046
201E Health Science Complex

Thomas S. Buchanan

Director DE Rehabilitation Institute; Laird Professor of Mechanical Engineering; Professor of Biomedical Engineering
Mechanical Engineering
buchanan@udel.edu
302.831.2401
201A Spencer Lab

Thomas A. Buckley

Associate Professor
Kinesiology & Applied Physiology
tbuckley@udel.edu
302.831.4783
150 Human Performance Lab

David L. Burris

Associate Professor
Mechanical Engineering
dlburris@udel.edu
302.831.2006
210 Spencer Lab

Jeremy Crenshaw

Assistant Professor
Kinesiology & Applied Physiology
crenshaw@udel.edu
302.831.4795
201U Health Science Complex

Randall L. Duncan

Professor
Biological Sciences
rlduncan@udel.edu
302.831.2275
319 Wolf Hall

James C. (Cole) Galloway

Professor
Physical Therapy
jacgallo@udel.edu
302.831.3697
210H Health Science Complex

Nancy Getchell

Professor
Kinesiology & Applied Physiology
getchell@udel.edu
302.831.6682
157 Human Performance Lab

Geoff Gustavsen

Associate Professor
Student Health Services
geofgus@udel.edu
302.831.4561
139 Bob Carpenter Center

Gregory Hicks

Chairperson & Professor
Physical Therapy
ghicks@udel.edu
302.831.2690
210E Health Science Complex

Jill Higginson

Professor
Mechanical Engineering
higginso@udel.edu
302.831.6622
201B Spencer Lab

John J. Jeka

Chairperson & Professor
Kinesiology & Applied Physiology
jjeka@udel.edu
302.831.4648
201T Health Science Complex

Curtis Johnson

Assistant Professor
Biomedical Engineering
clj@udel.edu
302.831.4098
201K Health Science Complex

Thomas W. Kaminski

Professor; Director of Athletic Training Education
Kinesiology & Applied Physiology
kaminski@udel.edu
302.831.6402
159 Human Performance Lab

Ashutosh Khandha

Associate Scientist
Delaware Rehabilitation Institute
ashutosh@udel.edu
302.831.0315
147 Health Science Complex

Catherine Kirn-Safran

Assistant Professor
Biological Sciences
ckirn@udel.edu
302.831.3249
310 Wolf Hall

Christopher A. Knight

Associate Professor
Kinesiology & Applied Physiology
caknight@udel.edu
302.831.6175
155 Human Performance Lab

Samuel Lee

Associate Professor; Director, BIOMS
Physical Therapy
slee@udel.edu
302.831.2450
210U Health Science Complex

Shannon L. Lennon

Associate Professor
Kinesiology & Applied Physiology
slennon@udel.edu
302.831.2798
201L Health Science Complex

Michele Lobo

Assistant Professor
Physical Therapy
malobo@udel.edu
302.831.8526
210K Health Science Complex

Xin (Lucas) Lu

Associate Professor
Mechanical Engineering
xlu@udel.edu
302.831.2401
225 Spencer Lab

Kurt Manal

Research Assistant Professor
Mechanical Engineering
manal@udel.edu
302.831.4463
201C Spencer Lab

Jared Medina

Assistant Professor
Psychological & Brain Sciences
jmedina@psych.udel.edu
302.831.8724
216 Wolf Hall

Susanne Morton

Associate Professor
Physical Therapy
smmorton@udel.edu
302.831.4235
210Q Health Science Complex

Christopher Price

Assistant Professor
Biomedical Engineering
cprice@udel.edu
302.831.1147
5 Innovation Way, Rm 106

Darcy Reisman

Associate Chairperson & Professor; Academic Director of Neurologic & Older Adult Clinic
Physical Therapy
dreisman@udel.edu
302.831.0508
210S Health Science Complex

James G. Richards

Distinguished Professor
Kinesiology & Applied Physiology
jimr@udel.edu
302.831.0515
Health Science Annex

William C. Rose

Assistant Professor
Kinesiology & Applied Physiology
rosewc@udel.edu
302.831.1064
148 Human Performance Lab

Todd D. Royer

Associate Professor
Kinesiology & Applied Physiology
royer@udel.edu
302.831.4351
201R Health Science Complex

Stephanie Russo

Affiliated Assistant Professor
Kinesiology & Applied Physiology
sarusso@udel.edu
814.877.6000
Health Science Complex

Michael H. Santare

Professor
Mechanical Engineering
santare@udel.edu
302.831.2246
208 Spencer Lab

Fabrizio Sergi

Assistant Professor
Biomedical Engineering
fabs@udel.edu
302.831.6404
201H Health Science Complex

Karin Gravare Silbernagel

Assistant Professor
Physical Therapy
kgs@udel.edu
302.831.4808
210X Health Science Complex

Jaclyn (Megan) Sions

Assistant Professor
Physical Therapy
megsions@udel.edu
302.831.7142
210JJ Health Science Complex

Lynn Snyder-Mackler

Alumni Distinguished Professor
Physical Therapy
smack@udel.edu
302.831.3613
210N Health Science Complex

Steven J. Stanhope

Professor; INBRE Program Coordinator and Director of Research
Kinesiology & Applied Physiology
stanhope@udel.edu
302.831.3496
Health Science Annex

Joshua Stefanik

Assistant Professor
Physical Therapy
stefanik@udel.edu
302.831.3922
210KK Health Science Complex

Charles (Buz) B. Swanik

Professor
Kinesiology & Applied Physiology
cswanik@udel.edu
302.831.2306
151 Human Performance Lab

Norman J. Wagner

Unidel Robert L. Pigford Chair in Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering; Joint Professor, Dept of Physics & Astronomy; Professor
Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering
wagnernj@udel.edu
302.831.8079
227 Colburn Lab

Liyun (Leann) Wang

Professor
Mechanical Engineering
lywang@udel.edu
302.831.2659
126 Spencer Lab

Daniel K. White

Assistant Professor
Physical Therapy
dkw@udel.edu
302.831.7607
210L Health Science Complex

Joseph A. Zeni Jr.

Adjunct Faculty
Physical Therapy
jzenijr@udel.edu
302.831.4263
210W Health Science Complex