The Frontiers in Chemistry and Biology Interface Symposium (FCBIS)

is an annual conference in the mid-Atlantic region. This day-long symposium, which began in 2008, is designed to provide an intimate environment to foster discussions on cutting-edge research at the interfaces of chemistry, biology, and medicine. The main theme of this year’s symposium is on exploitation of chemical (synthetic, analytical, and structural) approaches to address interesting and important problems in modern biology and medicine. The schedule includes invited and selected talks, a career panel, and poster sessions. There is no charge to attend the symposium and everyone – Research Scientists, Faculty, Post-Docs and Graduate Students – involved in research from academic, government and local industrial institutions is encouraged to participate.

This past Spring, May 2020, the annual FCBIS symposium to be held at the University of Maryland College Park was cancelled due to the coronavirus. However, CBI fellows from the local CBI programs organized a virtual Symposium which was held on Tuesday – Wednesday, May 12 – 13, 2020. The symposium included oral presentations by invited faculty, student presentations, professional development talks, a poster session, and a COVID presentation.

For more information about this virtual Symposium event, CLICK HERE

FCBIS Past EVENTS

2008, Univ. of Maryland College Park
2009, Univ. of Maryland Baltimore County
2010, Johns Hopkins Univ.
2011, Univ. of Delaware
2012, Univ. of Pennsylvania
2013, Univ. of Maryland College Park
2014, Univ. of Maryland School of Pharmacy
2015, Univ. of Maryland Baltimore County
2016, Johns Hopkins University
2017, Univ. of Delaware
2018, Univ. of Pennsylvania
2019, National Cancer Institute (NCI)
2020, Univ. of Maryland College Park  CANCELLED

FCBIS Organizing Committee

Johns Hopkins University
Steve Rokita, Dept. of Chemistry
rokita@jhu.edu
Caren Freel Meyers, School of Medicine,
Dept. of Pharmacology & Molecular Sciences
cmeyers@jhmi.edu

University of Delaware
Brian Bahnson, Dept. of Chemistry & Biochemistry
bahnson@udel.edu
Catherine Leimkuhler Grimes, Dept. of Chemistry & Biochemistry
cgrimes@udel.edu

University of Maryland Baltimore County
Dr. Songon An, Dept. of Chemistry & Biochemistry
san@umbc.edu

University of Maryland College Park
Lai-Xi Wang, Dept. of Chemistry & Biochemistry
wang518@umd.edu
T. Kwaku Dayie, Dept. of Chemistry & Biochemistry
theodore.dayie@gmail.com

University of Maryland School of Pharmacy
Jana Shen, Dept. of Pharmaceutical Sciences
jshen@rx.umaryland.edu
Sarah Michel, Dept. of Pharmaceutical Sciences
smichel@rx.umaryland.edu

University of Pennsylvania
Dave Chenoweth, Dept. of Chemistry
dcheno@sas.upenn.edu
Rahul Kohli, Perelman School of Medicine
rkohli@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Temple University
Ross Wang, Dept. of Chemistry
rosswang@temple.edu

George Washington University
Cynthia Dowd, Dept. of Chemistry
cdowd@gwu.edu

Georgetown University
Paul Roepe, Dept. of Chemistry
roepep@georgetown.edu

GlaxoSmithKline, King of Prussia
Greg Gatto, Sr. Scientific Investigator
gjgatto@gmail.com

National Cancer Institute-Frederick
Jordan Meier, Chemical Biology Laboratory
jordan.meier@nih.gov

FCBIS-2020 University of Maryland Organizing Committee

  • Kwaku Dayie
  • Nicole LaRonde
  • Jinwoo Lee
  • Peter Nemes
  • Myles Poulin
  • Lai-Xi Wang

 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email