About the Search

Download Position Specification (PDF)


The University of Delaware invites inquiries, nominations and applications.

To ensure full consideration, interested individuals should provide an electronic version of their curriculum vitae along with a bullet point summary of key accomplishments in each leadership role held.

The University of Delaware has retained Ilene H. Nagel, Steven R. Lerman, and Charles E. Kaler of Education Executives, LLC to assist with this search.  Confidential inquiries, nominations and applications should be sent via email to:

Ilene H. Nagel, Steven R. Lerman & Charles E. Kaler
Education Executives, LLC

Campus Forums

The Search Advisory Committee will hold virtual campus forums to gather input from the University community about the skills and background needed for this senior administration position from 4-5 p.m., Tuesday, Oct. 25, and Thursday, Oct. 27. Those interested in participating must register here.

Vice President for Research, Scholarship and Innovation Search Advisory Committee

A search advisory committee is co-chaired by Marianthi Ierapetritou, Bob and Jane Gore Centennial Chair in Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, and John Pelesko, dean of the College of Arts and Sciences.

Committee members are

  • Wei Jun Cai, Mary A.S. Lighthipe Chair in the School of Marine Science and Policy;
  • Ioannis Chremos, doctoral student in mechanical engineering and executive secretary of the Graduate Student Government and liaison to the Newark City Council;
  • Greg Dobler, associate professor in the Biden School of Public Policy and Administration and in the Department of Physics and Astronomy;
  • Velia Fowler, chairperson and professor in the Department of Biological Sciences;
  • Nancy Getchell, professor of kinesiology and applied physiology and of women and gender studies and president of the Faculty Senate;
  • Tori Glover, senior in health sciences and president of the Student Government Association;
  • Catherine Leimkuhler Grimes, professor of chemistry and biochemistry and of biological sciences;
  • Curtis Johnson, associate professor of biomedical engineering;
  • LaShanda Korley, Distinguished Professor in the Department of Materials Science and Engineering and the Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering;
  • Adrienne Lucas, chairperson and professor in the Department of Economics;
  • Henry May, director of the Center for Research in Education and Social Policy and associate professor in the School of Education;
  • Debbie Hess Norris, chair and professor of photograph conversation, Unidel-Henry Francis du Pont Chair of Fine Arts, director of the Winterthur/UD Program in Art Conservation and UD trustee;
  • Mary Remmler, senior vice president and chief financial officer;
  • Lou Rossi, dean of the Graduate College, vice provost for graduate and professional education and professor of mathematical sciences and of computer and information sciences;
  • Rodrigo Vargas, professor of plant and soil sciences; and
  • Yushan Yan, Henry B. du Pont Chaired Professor of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering and Distinguished Professor of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering.