Identify GMO Crops

Most people don’t know but there are only 10 genetically modified crops. The 10 genetically modified crops available today are alfalfa, apples, canola, corn, cotton, papaya, potatoes, soybeans, squash and sugar beets. The efforts to genetically modify these crops focus on expressing positive traits that support the quality of the crop and improving resistance to pests and weather conditions.

The list below shows the year the GMO crop was launched

  • Squash, 1995
  • Cotton, 1996
  • Soybean, 1995
  • Corn, 1996
  • Papaya, 1997
  • Alfalfa, 2006
  • Sugar beets, 2006
  • Canola, 1999
  • Potato, 2016
  • Apples, 2017

So the next time you are in a grocery store and are distraught over which pasta to purchase because the labels are overwhelming remember there isn’t a GMO wheat crop.

Leave a Reply