**FACULTY AWARDS** 

#### **WIE GRADUATE STEERING COMMITTEE**

#### **BIOMEDICAL ENGINEERING (BME)**

Stephanie Cone was hired as an assistant professor. Her lab will be focused on measuring tissue mechanics with wearable technologies.

Sonia Bansal and Stephanie Cone were recognized as outstanding alumni by Columbia University and University of Arkansas, respectively.

Dawn Elliott gave an invited lecture at Harvard Medical School Teaching Hospital.

#### CHEMICAL AND BIOMOLECULAR **ENGINEERING (CBE)**

Catherine Fromen received an NSF CAREER Award for her work on aerosol transport in a new model of the human lung.

Arthi Jayaraman received the University of Delaware Faculty Award for Excellence in Teaching.

#### **CIVIL AND ENVIRONMENTAL ENGINEERING (CEE)**

Monique Head is part of a collaboration that received a US Department of Transportation grant for work on development and implementation of HBCU based railroad programs for underrepresented communities. She also organized and led a lectern session at the 2023 Transportation Research Board Annual Meeting.

#### COMPUTER AND INFORMATION SCIENCES (CIS)

Sunita Chandrasekaran received a grant from the US Department of Education for her work on compiling and successfully executing QMCPACK on Frontier and Aurora.

Debra Yarrington received the University of Delaware Faculty Award for Excellence in Service and Community Engagement.

#### **ELECTRICAL AND COMPUTER ENGINEERING (ECE)**

Yuping Zeng is collaborating on a grant from the US Department of Energy to establish an Energy Frontier Research Center.

# **PROFESSIONAL LEADER**

Monique Head is an associate professor and associate chair in the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering. She is also the Chair of the Standing Committee on the Seismic Design and Performance of Bridges for the Transportation Research Board, which is part of the National Academies of Engineering, Sciences, and Medicine. Under her leadership, the committee was recently recognized as a "Blue Ribbon Committee" in the Research Category for identifying research needs in the field to advance seismic design and code implementation.

#### MECHANICAL ENGINEERING (ME)

Jenni Buckley was selected as the 2023 American Society for Engineering Education Middle Atlantic Section Distinguished Teaching Award.

Livun Wang received a grant from the US Department of Human Health and Services for her work on osteocyte mechanotransduction.

#### **MATERIAL SCIENCE ENGINEERING** (MSE)

Laure Keyser was awarded an NSF CAREER award for her work on a new class of polymers that have human health application. She was also recognized as a 2023 Young Observer by the US National Committee for the International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry.

LaShanda Korley was elected as a 2023 Fellow of the American Chemical Society and as a 2023 Fellow of the American Institute of Chemical Engineers.



Π

CBI



Sara Aboeleneen (Outreach Coordinator)



(Co-Chair)



Michelle Gee (Photograph Manager)









Mina Samizadeh

(Web Designer)





Lorry Chang (Chair)







lessica Thomas (Publicist)

JOIN US IN FALL 2023! TIME/LOCATION TBD

Follow us: http://sites.udel.edu/wie/ 📫 👩 🏏 @WIEatUD 🔘 UNIVERSITY of DELAWARE

### WOMEN in ENGINEERING

ELAWARE College of Engineering

## WIE EVENTS

#### College of Engineering Women in Leadership Lunch and Discussion

WIE hosted a women in leadership lunch and discussion with outstanding female leaders from the College of Engineering, including department founders, chairs, and associate deans. During this event, their accomplishments were recognized, and these female leaders sat on a panel where audience questions were addressed.



Event planned by Kenza Soufiane and Sara Aboeleneen

#### Conversations with COE Administration

WIE invited members of the College of Engineering Graduate Administration to discuss topics including the anonymous feedback form, weekly newsletter, and their goals for the year. **Stay tuned next year for more exciting conversations with administration!** 

#### WIE FACULTY ADVISORS



Heather Doty Mechanical Engineering Ch (hdoty@udel.edu)



Cathy Fromen Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering (cfromen@udel.edu)

#### WIE Newsletter — Spring 2023

The mission of WIE is to **promote, mentor, and enable participation of women students and faculty in engineering** studies and in the workplace at the University of Delaware.

# COE GRADUATE

#### **BIOMEDICAL ENGINEERING (BME)**

Sara Aboeleneen (WIE rep) received the Tau Beta Pi Engineering Honor Society Graduate Fellowship; the College of Engineering Graduate Student Service Award; and the BME Outstanding Engineering Outreach Award.

**Olivia Bailey** received the BME award for Outstanding Service.

**Cailin Gonyea** received the BME Graduate Chair Award.

Mackenzie Scully received the BME Chair Award. Ashika Singh received the BME Outstanding Engineering Outreach Award.

#### CHEMICAL & BIOMOLECULAR ENGINEERING (CBE)

**Jodi Graf** received an NSF Graduate Research Fellowship (GRFP).

**Lauren Cordova** received the Postdoctoral Research Excellence Award from the College of Engineering.

Julie Hip received the Journal of Rheology 2023 Best Paper Award.

#### CIVIL AND ENVIRONMENTAL ENGINEERING (CEE)

Rachel Burch received the College of Engineering Graduate Student Excellence in Teaching Award. Shadata Das received first place for her poster presentation at the Baltimore/Washington Chapter regional SAMPE conference.

**Cuijuan Feng** received the Environmental Engineering Graduate Research Award.

**Paula Cardenas Hernandez** (WIE rep) received the Hagerty Environmental Graduate Award.

Sanda Milev received the College of Engineering Graduate Student Excellence in Research Award and Center for Composite Materials Student Achievement Day Progress Award.

**Kenza Soufiane** (WIE rep) received the American Railway Engineering and Maintenance-Of-Way Association CSX Scholarship.

**Caroline Williams** received the Civil and Environmental Engineering Graduate Student Service Award.

Rachel Zobel presented her work at the Winter 2022 Spark! Symposium.

#### COMPUTER AND INFORMATION SCIENCES

**Mehak Gupta** (WIE rep) received the CIS Frank A Pehrson Graduate Student Award for Outstanding CIS Research.

**Minji Kong** (WIE alumna) received the CIS Lauri Pfeffer Shinn Memorial Award.

Lauren Olsen received the CIS Daniel L Chester Graduate Fellowship Award. Shayla Sharmin received the CIS Graduate Teaching Assistant Award and Daniel L Chester Graduate Fellowship Award.

#### ELECTRICAL AND COMPUTER ENGINEERING (ECE)

Seyda Naz Alasahin won first place in the MS category at the regional SAMPE conference and was part of the first and third-place teams in the Open Design Category and Carbon/Sandwich I Beam categories of the Student Bridge contest at the National SAMPE conference.

Tasha Kaewnukultorn was awarded the ECEWestermanFamilyGraduateResearchFellowship.

#### MECHANICAL ENGINEERING (ME)

Kleio Baxevani (WIE alumna) was awarded the 2023 Best Overseas Paper Award from the Journal of Guidance, Navigation, and Control.

TaniaLavaggireceivedtheUniversityStudent LeadershipExperienceAward fromthe NationalSAMPE conference.

**Soyeon Park** received the first place and Boeing Award of Achievement for her oral presentation at the regional SAMPE conference.

**Stephanie Ross** received an NSF Graduate Research Fellowship (GRFP).

#### MATERIAL SCIENCE ENGINEERING

(MSE)

**Apoorva Metkari** and **Abigail Nolin** received the Graduate College University Doctoral Fellowship for Excellence Award.

Sai Patkar received the 2023 MSEG Chairperson's Outstanding Graduate Student Award.

Follow us: http://sites.udel.edu/wie/ 🚅 👩 🏏 @WIEatUD 🍘 UNIVERSITY of DELAWARE