About Us

Current officers (2020-2021)

President: Tory Welsch
Vice President: Derek Bischoff
Secretary: Tasnim Kamal Mouri
Treasurer: Jill Cleveland

Outreach rep: Vidhika Damani
ASM rep: Wilder Acuna Gonzalez

First Year reps:
Sampanna Mhatre
Shagorika Mukherjee


The Materials Research Society (MRS) was established in 1973 by a visionary group of scientists who shared the belief that a new interdisciplinary organization was needed. Today MRS is a growing, vibrant member-driven organization of over 14,000 materials researchers from academia, industry, and government, and a recognized leader in the advancement of interdisciplinary materials research. Headquartered in Warrendale, Pennsylvania (USA), MRS membership now spans over 80 countries. For more information on the MRS, visit www.mrs.org.