Amos Oz

Amos Oz was a renowned Israeli author, respected intellectual, and esteemed advocate for peace and justice. Writing over 40 novels,  short stories, essays, and children’s books, Oz has been awarded the Israel Prize, Goethe Prize, Frankfurt Peace Prize, and many more honorable awards and recognitions. Born in Jerusalem, Oz served in the Israeli army, worked as a schoolteacher serving on the faculty of literature at Ben-Gurion University, and became an active voice advocating for a two-state solution to the Israeli-Palistinian conflict. His novel’s reflect optimistic feelings about the founding generation of Israel, but also criticize and consider the realities of modern-day Israeli life. His unique writing style, psychologically complex narratives, and deeply human characters culminate in works that are beloved and timeless. Oz passed away in Tel Aviv in late December of 2018, but his words and his legacy continue to touch readers everywhere. 

This article provides a helpful guide for where to start with Amos Oz's works. Click the links below for more information about his most famous novels: 

My Michael (1968)

The Same Sea (1999)

A Tale of Love and Darkness (2002)

Black Box (2012)

Judas (2014)


Amos Oz passed away in 2018 at the age of seventy nine. Obituaries are a powerful way to learn about the intricacies behind a life so vast and varied. These sources describe stories and events from the beloved activist and writer that created so many important stories of representation. 

New York Times


Washington Post


Panther in the Basement’s Homepage

Rachel Milberg ’20

Comments are closed