Honors Faculty Teaching & Mentoring Awards

In the tradition of excellence in Honors teaching and mentoring embodied by Dr. Burnaby Munson, the Honors College has created faculty awards for Honors teaching and mentoring of Honors students. Award recipients will be recognized at the Honors Degree Medal Ceremony each May. Recipients will each receive $1,000.  The awards were created during the 2019-2020 Academic Year and nominations will be sought annually. 

Recipients of the Outstanding Honors Teaching Award:

  • Are rigorous and engaging
  • Facilitate learning and participation
  • Challenge students to think for themselves 
  • Show genuine concern for students and their development as scholars and people
  • Are passionate about their discipline and demonstrate that enthusiasm inside and outside the classroom
  • Are inspiring, open-minded, and respectful of differences

Recipients of the Outstanding Honors Mentoring Award:

  • Push their students to excel
  • Work with students through research supervision, academic advisement, and support of academic & career goals
  • Guide and inspire
  • Are available and open with communication
  • Show genuine concern for students and their development as scholars and people
  • Have a positive and lasting impact on students’ academic and professional lives 

Nomination Form
Only current Honors Program students may nominate a faculty member. Nominations will be submitted online through this form.  In the form, you will be asked to indicate how long you’ve known the nominee, in what capacity, and in less than 500 words describe why the person is deserving of the award.  Nominations are due midway through spring term. 

Person nominated must be a full-time UD faculty member. For teaching awards, the nominee must have taught the nominator in an Honors section/course. For mentoring awards, the nominee must have directly mentored the nominator.

Faculty may only win each award once. 

Faculty Teaching Awards Faculty Mentoring Awards
2020 Alan Fox, Elizabeth Bayley Susan Groh
2021 Alenka Hlousek-Radojcic, Sue Groh Catherine Fromen
2022 Jane Case Lilly, Leslie Reidel Jessica Tanis, Donald Watson