International Graduate Student Workshop and Symposium

Date: October 11-12, 2018

The University of Delaware and Winterthur Museum, Garden & Library

Thursday, October 11: Graduate Student Workshop
Old College Hall, University of Delaware, 8:30am-5:30pm
Open to invited participants only

Friday, October 12: Graduate Student Symposium
Rotunda, Winterthur Museum, Garden & Library, 8:30am-2:00pm
Free and open to the public

Schedule of Events

8:30 am: Registration

8:45 am: Welcome

9:00 am: Remarks from Graduate Student Committee

9:15 – 9:35 am: Susan Eberhardt, University of California, Berkeley
Metal Modalities of Appropriating China in 18th and 19th Century North America

9:35 – 9:55 am: Kaelne Koorn, University of Seville
Modern Era Textile Trade and the Influence of Asian Products on Spanish-American Workshops

9:55 – 10:15 am: Philippe Halbert and Cynthia Kok, Yale University
“Bizarre” Aesthetics: Asian Design and the Fashioning of a Colonial Mercantile Elite

10:15 – 10:30 am: Break

10:30 – 10:50 am: Nina Blomfield, Bryn Mawr College
Papered Over: Japanese Aesthetics in a Nineteenth-Century Maine Interior

10:50 – 11:10 am: Chaeeun Lee, The Graduate Center, City University of New York
Borders that Fluctuate: Locating the “Orient” in the Discourse of American Abstraction, 1950–1958

11:10 – 11:30 am: Discussion

11:30 am – 12:00 pm: Lunch

12:00 – 12:20 pm: Antonia Behan, Bard Graduate Center
“Why Exhibit Works of Art?”: Amanda Coomaraswamy and “Asian” Aesthetics in America

12:20 – 12:40 pm: Yiqing Li, University of California, San Diego
From Asia to America: Calligraphic Brushstroke in the Paintings of Abstract Expressionism

12:40 – 1:00 pm: Brian T. Leahy, Northwestern University
Concrete Habits: David Ireland’s Dumbballs

1:00 – 1:20 pm: Victoria Nolte, Carleton University
Re-visioning History: The Story of Chinese Artist Lee Nam in Karen Tam’s Flying Cormorant Studio (For Lee Nam) (2014–2017)

1:20 – 1:40 pm: Discussion

Graduate Student Committee Members: Meghan Angelos, Kate Burnett Budzyn, Nora Ellen Carleson, Anne Cross, Tiarna Doherty, Hee Eun (Helena) Kim, Zoë Wray

Print Friendly, PDF & Email