General Education

This committee shall recommend academic policies and standards for the General Education Program. It shall evaluate on a regular basis the implementation of the General Education Initiative and its goals. It shall also have the ability to develop and recommend new general education initiatives and to bring forward resolutions seeking to improve the ways in which the University fosters the goals of general education.

This committee shall consist of 16 members, including the Provost or designee; a representative of the office of Educational Assessment; a Residence Life representative; an Undergraduate Studies Committee representative; two faculty representatives from the College of Arts and Sciences (one representing humanities and social sciences, the other representing natural and mathematical sciences); one faculty representative from each of the remaining colleges or schools governed by Deans in which faculty have primary appointments; one graduate student; and two undergraduate students.

The faculty representatives will be different from faculty members serving on the Undergraduate Studies Committee, and they will be selected by the Committee on Committees and Nominations (COCAN). These representatives will serve two year terms, and they may be reappointed. One of the faculty representatives will be designated chairperson of the committee by COCAN.

The chairperson of the Committee may request the appointment of up to two additional representatives of administrative offices (such as Admissions, Service Learning, Center for Teaching Effectiveness, Career Services, etc.) if such appointments would assist the committee in developing or evaluating particular general education initiatives. These additional representatives shall not have voting privileges.


Chair: Christine Cucciarre

Committee Members:

Christine Cucciarre
2021 AS

Jeff Schneider
Kinesiology & Applied Physiology
2021 HS

Rusty Lee
Civil and Environmental Engineering
2021 UGS Representative

Sarah DeYoung
Sociology/Criminal Justice
AS 2022

Susan Barton
Plant & Soil Sciences
2021 CANR

Shivam Pathak
Undergraduate Student Representative  2021

Kathleen Lyons
Arts and Sciences
Graduate Student Representative  2021

Kathleen Kerr
Executive Director of Residence Life and Housing
Student Life Representative

Lynn Okagaki
Deputy Provost, University of Delaware
Deputy Provost

Kevin Guidry
Office of Educational Assessment
Educational Assessment Rep.