Diversity and Inclusion

This Committee shall review all University policies and practices pertaining to diversity and inclusion in the recruiting and retaining of students and faculty. The committee shall submit an annual report in May evaluating the status of policies and practices, including current data on the recruitment and retention of underrepresented faculty and students. It shall recommend for consideration by the Senate statements of goals, policies and practices pertaining to (1) the recruitment, retention, promotion, and general well-being of underrepresented faculty; (2) teaching by faculty that contributes to an inclusive, dynamic campus community in which underrepresented populations are welcomed, represented, and engaged; and (3) encouraging faculty research that furthers knowledge of diversity in its many forms.

As part of the charge (2), the committee will perform the ongoing review of new and revised courses seeking to fulfill the multicultural course requirement. This review will be conducted by a subcommittee of three members selected at the discretion of the chair.

The committee shall consist of eight faculty members who shall serve three-year terms, one of whom shall be appointed chair by the Committee on Committees and Nominations, one graduate student who shall serve a one-year term, and two undergraduates who shall serve one-year terms. The Committee will also consult regularly with the Vice Provost for Diversity in order to ensure open lines of communication between faculty and administration about diversity initiatives on campus. Initial appointments shall be staggered to ensure continuity on the committee.

 

Chair: Meghan McInnis-Domínguez

Committee Members:

Tony Seraphin
seraphin@udel.edu
302-831-1021
Applied Economics & Statistics
2023

Meghan McInnis  Dominguez
mmd@udel.edu
302-831-0280
Languages, Literatures and Cultures
2021

Isai Jess Munoz
ijmunoz@udel.edu
302-831-2578
Music
2022

Janine de Novais
denovais@udel.edu
302-831-6009
School of Education
2023

Kalim Shah
kalshah@udel.edu
302-831-1618
Biden School of Public Policy and Administration
2023

Edgard Sankara
esankara@udel.edu
302-831-2589
Languages, Literatures, and Cultures
2022  Associate Professor

Anjana Bhat
abhat@udel.edu
302-831-7612
Physical Therapy
2022  Associate Professor

Crystal Solomon
csolomon@udel.edu
Undergraduate Student Representative
2021

Gabrielle Sherba
gsherba@udel.edu
Undergraduate Student Representative
2021

Diane Codding
dcodding@udel.edu
325-201-5554
Education and Human Development
Graduate Student Representative 2021