Latest News

June 2018:
Congratulations to Dr. Epps for being named a Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry!

June 2018:
The Epps group's work on biobased pressure sensitive adhesives is featured in UDaily & AZoCleantech

April 2018:
Announcing the 2018 Future Faculty Workshop to be held at UD

April 2018:
Congratulations to Melody for being named the Fraser and Shirley Russell Teaching Fellow in Chemical Engineering!

March 2018:
Congrats to Seung for a recent publication in Science!

March 2018:
The Epps group welcomes Silvia Grama as a new post-doc!

January 2018:
The Epps group is looking to hire two new post-docs, check out the postings here for more details

January 2018:
Congrats to Greg for passing quals!

November 2017:
The Epps group welcomes Esther and Robert as new grad students!

November 2017:
The Epps group welcomes Yi as a new grad student!

November 2017:
Congrats to Seung for receiving the Hanwha Award for Post Docs at AIChE!

November 2017:
Congrats to Victoria for receiving 1st-Place for her MESD Undergraduate Poster at AIChE!

October 2017:
Congrats to Dr. Epps for being elected as a 2017 Fellow of the American Physical Society

August 2017:
Morris et al. perspective is a top 20 read for August

August 2017:
Congrats to Priyanka for passing quals!

August 2017:
The Epps group welcomes Seung as a new post-doc!

July 2017:
Dr. Epps is appointed as the new CMET Director

June 2017:
The Epps group welcomes Shelby and Grace, as summer REU students!

May 2017:
Congratulations to Chad for successfully defending his thesis!

May 2017:
Congratulations to Cameron for successfully defending his thesis!

May 2017:
Chad is an ACS/ESBES International Graduate Student Design Challenge Finalist

April 2017:
Dr. Epps Delivers the Lindsay Lecture at Texas A&M University

April 2017:
Kaleigh wins the Richard Wool Award for Women in Green Engineering

March 2017:
The Epps group is featured in UDaily Tuning Block-polymers

March 2017:
Cameron wins best DPOLY poster at APS 2017 March Meeting

October 2016:
Dr. Epps Delivers the Thiele Lecture at the University of Notre Dame

August 2016:
UD Hosts the 2016 Future Faculty Workshop

June 2016:
Announcing the 2016 Future Faculty Workshop to be held at UD

June 2016:
The Epps group welcomes Spencer, a summer REU student!

June 2016:
Epps group collaboration with DuPont Performance Materials announced

May 2016:
Congratulations to Ming for successfully defending his thesis!

May 2016:
Congratulations to Dr. Epps for his promotion to professor!

May 2016:
Congratulations to Chad for receiving the Saurabh A. Palkar Graduate Award for Mentoring

April 2016:
Congratulations to Melody for receiving the Robert L. Pigford Teaching Assistant Award

April 2016:
Congratulations to Kai for successfully defending his thesis!

March 2016:
Congratulations to Victoria for being named a 2016 Barry Goldwater Scholar

March 2016:
Victoria receives 2nd Place in the ACS Undergraduate Research in Polymer Science Symposium

December 2015:
Congratulations to Angela for successfully defending her thesis!

October 2015:
Congratulations to Dr. Epps for receiving the 2016 American Physical Society Dillon Medal

June 2015:
Congratulations to Dr. Epps for receiving the 2015 AIChE Owens Corning Early Career Award!

May 2015:
Angela is selected to speak at the AIChE 08A Excellence in Graduate Polymer Research Award Symposium

May 2015:
Tom is awarded the Paul H. Schipper Fellowship

April 2015:
Angela is awarded a UD Dissertation Fellowship

April 2015:
The Epps’ group battery membrane research was featured in the UDaily

March 2015:
Tom is awarded NSF GRFP Honorable Mention

March 2015:
Congratulations to Angela for being selected to speak at the 2015 Polymers Gordon Research Seminar

March 2015:
Kaleigh is selected to attend the 65th Lindau Nobel Laureate Meeting

February 2015:
Chad's work on light-sensitive polymers for controlled gene silencing is featured on

January 2015:
Ming and Cameron’s work on XPS depth profiling highlighted at

January 2015:
Rashida is awarded a NSF Systems Biology of Cells in Engineered Environments IGERT Fellowship


Small Angle X-Ray Scattering (SAXS)
– 2 kW Cu Ka, 1.514 Å
– 3 pinhole collimation
– Linkam THMS600 Stage
– 0.5, 1.3, and 2 m sample-to-detector distances
– Domain spacing range: 5-100 nm
– Motorized sample stage

Ion Conductivity Measurement
Princeton Applied Research 2273 Galvanostat/Frequency Response Analysis
   – 10 µHz to 1 MHz
   – <5 pF capacitance
   – >1013 impedence
   – 1.2 fA resolution

Block Copolymer Synthesis
– Airfree Synthesis Lines
Tapered-pictureMBRAUN Unilab glovebox
SG Water solvent purification columns
Viscotek Tetra-Detector GPC system
   – Refractive Index
   – Viscosity
   – Right angle light scattering and 7o low angle light scattering
   – Photodiode array (190-500 nm)

Block Copolymer Thin Film Preparation & Analysis
Nikon Eclipse LV100 optical microscope
   – diascopic (transmission) and episcopic (reflection) modes
   – 5x, 10x, 20x, 50x, and 100x objectives
   – 5 megapixel color camera
   – polarizer and quarter wave plate
   – motorized stage
   – scripting available (autofocus, autocapture, stage movement)
Fischer Scientific Isotemp vacuum ovens
Jelight ultraviolet ozone cleaner
Filmetrics interferometer
Laurell WS-400-6NPP-Lite spin coater
– Thin film polymer flowcoater
– Solvent annealing flow chamber
   – nitrogen carrier gas (0-50 mL/min)
   – 4” diameter annealing chamber

Surface Modification
– Vapor deposition chamber
   – customizable via teflon insert pieces
   – typical chemistry: chlorosilanes on silicon
   – typical substrate size: 3 cm wide x 6 cm long (accommodates up to 15 cm long)
– Nitrogen drying stream

ARES G2 rheometer
   – forced convention oven (to 600°C)
   – torque range: 0.05 µN.m – 200 mN.m (oscillation)
         0.1 µN.m – 200 mN.m (steady shear)
   – torque resolution: 1 nN.m
   – minimum angular displacement: 1 µrad
   – angular velocity range: 1x10-6 rad/s to 300 rad/s
   – angular frequency range: 1x10-7 rad/s to 628 rad/s
   – step change in velocity: 5 ms


Thomas H. Epps, III

Thomas and Kipp Gutshall Professor
Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering
Materials Science & Engineering
Center for Molecular & Engineering Thermodynamics Director
University of Delaware

Phone: 302.831.0215
Fax: 302.831.1048
Download Adobe Reader

Recent Honors & Awards

-Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry, 2018
-APS Fellow, 2017
-Thiele Lectureship, University of Notre Dame, 2016
-Graduate Students of Diversity Lectureship, University of Massachusetts, Amherst, 2016
-APS John H. Dillon Medal, 2016
-AIChE Owens Corning Early Career Award, 2015
-Kavli Fellow, National Academy of Sciences, 2014
-Sigma Xi Young Investigator Award, 2014
-Thomas & Kipp Gutshall Professorship, 2012
-Martin Luther King, Jr. Visiting Professor Award, 2012
-UD Gerard J. Mangone Best Young Scholar Award (Alison Young Professor), 2011
-DuPont Young Professor Award, 2010