Hutchinson Lecture

The Hutchinson Lecture in Macroeconomics was established in 1990 to honor the academic career of Harry D. Hutchinson, who taught in the Department of Economics at the University of Delaware from 1959 until his retirement in 1989. His career was distinguished by excellence in teaching and scholarship, especially in the area of macroeconomics. His very successful textbook, Money, Banking & The U.S. Economy, was the foundation for many students’ introduction to financial institutions. Harry Hutchinson passed away in July, 2005.

Distinguished scholars and policy-makers in the areas of macroeconomics or monetary policy are invited to the University of Delaware to present the Hutchinson Lecture.

2019:  Lawrence H. Summers, President Emeritus and the Charles W. Eliot University Professor, Harvard University, and former United States Secretary of the Treasury.

2018: Susan W. Gates, Senior Policy Advisor, Global Forum on Urban and Regional Resilience at Virginia Tech

2016: Gregory Mankiw, Professor of Economics, Harvard University

2015: Mark Flannery, Director & Chief Economist, Securities & Exchange Commission, Division of Economic & Risk Analysis

2014: William L. Wascher, Deputy Director, Research & Statistics Division, Federal Reserve Board (University of Delaware, AS 1978)

2013: Michael C. Jensen, Jesse Isidor Strauss Professor Emeritus, Harvard University

2012:  Warren Coats, International Monetary Fund

2011: Alice Rivlin, Senior Fellow, Economic Studies, Brookings Institution

2010: William Poole, UD Distinguished Scholar in Residence and former President, Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis

2009: Donald Kohn, Vice Chairman, Board of Governors, Federal Reserve Board (speech)

2008: David Hartzell, Steven D. Bell & Leonard W. Wood Distinguished Professor of Finance and Real Estate, University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill

2007: Charles I. Plosser, President and Chief Executive Officer, Federal Reserve Bank of Philadelphia (speech)

2006: Laurence A. Seidman, Chaplin Tyler Professor of Economics, University of Delaware  (speech)

2005: Anthony M. Santomero,President and Chief Executive Officer, Federal Reserve Bank of Philadelphia  (speech)

2004: Frederick Mishkin, Director of Research, Federal Reserve Bank of New York

2003: Alan Levinson, Vice President and Chief Economist, T. Rowe Price

2001: Paul A. Volcker, former chairman, Board of Governors, U.S. Federal Reserve System, (speech)

2000: Edward G. Boehne, President, Federal Reserve Bank of Philadelphia (speech)

1999: William Poole, President, Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis (speech)