CCSD and UD Environment

About CCSD

The mission of the Center for Counseling and Student Development (CCSD) is to contribute to the personal, educational, and career development of University of Delaware students. The counseling service has served as the primary mental health unit on campus since its establishment in 1946. The CCSD is accredited by the International Association of Counseling Services (IACS).

The philosophy of the unit includes a strong emphasis on student development, providing services and programs for students who are confronting typical developmental issues and tasks. The CCSD also assists students whose concerns are interfering with their ability to function in a satisfactory manner. Approximately 9% of the student body uses the CCSD services annually to address a wide variety of personal, education, and career-related problems or concerns.

The staff of the CCSD spends roughly 40% of its time in counseling, 25% in training, 20% in consultation, staff development, and special University programs. Remaining staff time includes a variety of activities such as committee work, outreach activities, administrative duties, or research. The CCSD has five administrative support staff.

The CCSD has two separate facilities: psychologists, postdoctoral fellows, and interns are located in the Perkins Student Center within space specifically designed for a university counseling center. The psychiatrists, as well as some of the psychologists and one member of the support staff are located in a wing of the campus’ Student Health Service. Interns have private offices with video equipment and desk-top computers. Facilities include two group rooms and a professional library.

University Environment

The University of Delaware is in Newark, a pleasant community of about 30,000. It is 14 miles from Wilmington and halfway between Philadelphia and Baltimore.

There are over 16,600 undergraduates, some 3,670 graduate students, and more than 846 part-time students. Some 4,800 enroll in summer sessions while another 8,000 pursue winter session courses.

The University offers degrees in 137 different undergraduate programs, 117 master’s degree programs and 50 doctoral programs and 12 dual graduate programs. First semester begins in late August or early September, the second semester in February, with a five-week winter session intervening.  There are two summer sessions of five weeks each, and one of seven and one-half weeks duration.