Fellowships, Honors, & Awards

1964-65   Walter P. Murphy Fellowship, Northwestern University

1966-67    Ford Foundation Fellowship, StanfordUniversity

1970-71    Frederick Gardner Cottrell Fellowship, Research Corporation

1976         Senior Visiting Research Fellowship, British Science Research Council

1986-87    Fellow, Institute for Advanced Study, University of Delaware

1988         Special Faculty Award, College of Engineering, University of Delaware

1989-02    Named Professor, University of Delaware

1994          Honorary Professor, BeijingUniversity of Aeronautics&Astronautics, China

1996          Charles Russ Richards Memorial Award, American Society of Mechanical                           Engineers

1997          Honorary Professor, Northwestern Polytechnical University, China

1998          Distinguished Research Award, American Society for Composites

1998          Fellow, American Society of Mechanical Engineers

1999          Fellow, ASM International

2001          Fellow, American Society for Composites

2001          Francis Alison Medal, University of Delaware

2002          Associate Fellow, American Institute of Aeronautics & Astronautics

2002          Fellow, American Ceramic Society

2002          Highly Cited Researchers, ISI

2002          Worcester Reed Warner Medal, ASME

2003-         Unidel Pierre S. du Pont Chair

2005          Fellow, American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics

2008          Fellow, The Mineral, Metals and Materials Society (TMS)

2009          Medal of Excellence in Composite Materials, University of Delaware Center for                   Composite Materials

2011          Named among top 100 materials scientists of the decade (2000-2010) by                            Times Higher Education  (ranked 34th)

2011          World Fellow, International Committee on Composite Materials

2013          Honorary Professor, Tongji University, Shanghai, China

2013          Nadai Medal, ASME

2014          ASC/DEStech Award in Composites, American Society for Composites

2015         Honorary Professor, Southwest Jiaotong University, China

2017         Albert Sauveur Achievement Award, ASM International

2018         Honorary Advisor of the Innovation Center for Advanced Nanocomposites,                       SINANO, Suzhou, China.

2019         Distinguished Visiting Professor, Shinshu University, Japan