Zoom cloud recording retention schedule

The University must implement new storage and retention requirements to curtail costs associated with the use of Zoom. This applies to recordings in Zoom cloud storage. It does not apply to recordings in My Media in Canvas or UD Capture Space which is unlimited.

What’s changing?

UDIT is implementing a new 60 day retention schedule for Zoom cloud recording storage beginning on November 2, 2020.

Who does this change affect?

Zoom users who use or share Zoom cloud recording links. These links are usually obtained from the Zoom email that follows your meeting.

Zoom cloud recordings for most users have already been added to your My Media in Canvas and/or UD Capture space (learn more). Recordings that are stored outside of Zoom’s cloud storage will not be impacted by this change. (How do I tell where my recordings are hosted?)

What to expect starting November 2, 2020

  • Any Zoom cloud recording 60 days or older will be put in the Zoom cloud trash.
  • Recordings that have been in the Zoom cloud trash for longer than 30 days will be permanently deleted.

Actions you may need to take before November 2, 2020

  • Ensure the Zoom recordings that you want to keep are stored in My Media in Canvas or in UD Capture Space. Manually upload any that are missing.
  • Share the recording from your My Media in Canvas or UD Capture Space.
  • If you’ve shared a Zoom meeting using a Zoom Cloud link, you should transition to using a link from My Media in Canvas or UD Capture Space.

If you have questions about these new retention guidelines, contact zoom-support@udel.edu.


Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

Managing Zoom Cloud Recordings

    • What is Zoom cloud storage?
      • Zoom cloud storage is a temporary storage service available through your UD Zoom account that stores recordings when you use  Zoom to record to the cloud. The storage is temporary and available for 60 days before it’s moved to the Zoom cloud trash.
    • Why are we implementing this change?
      • Zoom cloud storage is a temporary storage service and is not for long term storage or delivery of recordings. The university has unlimited video storage in your My Media in Canvas and UD Capture Space.
    • How will this change affect my course videos where I’ve used Zoom recordings?
      • If you share your Zoom recordings from your My Media in Canvas, there is no change.
      • If you use a Zoom cloud recording link, the link will cease to work 60 days after it was created. You should instead share your video through My Media in Canvas.
    • How does this affect HIPAA Zoom accounts?
      • Zoom users in the HIPAA subaccount will see no change as these accounts cannot use Zoom cloud recordings.
    • How do I manage my Zoom cloud recording email notifications?
      • You can adjust your account settings and tailor cloud recording email notifications to your taste.
      • Sign in to your UD Zoom settings page. Click Settings on the left.
      • Ensure Meeting is highlighted on the tabs at the top. Click Email Notification to jump to that section.
      • Adjust the settings to your preferences. Settings are saved as soon as you change them, noted by the green box at the top of the screen.
    • Can I share Zoom recordings of my course with others outside my course?
      • Zoom recordings containing the image, voice or work of students are FERPA protected records.  Please review the FERPA Responsibilities for UD Faculty/Staff.
      • Videos that are shared beyond your current students must comply with FERPA and other regulations and the university’s procedures regarding the disclosure of education records to third parties. Under these procedures, written permission of each student is required to document consent in almost all instances.
      • It’s always a good idea to tell students in advance you intend to record, why you’re recording, what the recordings will be used for, and for how long.
    • Are there security and/or privacy concerns with sharing Zoom recordings I should know?
      • Yes, you should ensure good privacy and security when sharing Zoom meeting recordings.
      • Everyone is responsible for protecting sensitive data such as recorded meetings, interviews, etc., and should utilize enterprise resources such as My Media in Canvas and UD Capture Space for storage.
    • Are there concerns with downloading a local copy of Zoom recordings?

Sharing Zoom recordings

Managing Zoom Cloud Trash

    • What is the Zoom cloud trash?
      • Zoom cloud trash is a temporary folder where your Zoom cloud recordings get moved to automatically after 60 days. Recordings that have been in the Zoom cloud trash for longer than 30 days will be permanently deleted.
    • How do I recover a recording from the Zoom cloud trash?
      • Visit your UD Zoom profile Recordings Trash page. You should see a list of meeting recordings in the Zoom cloud trash.
      • Locate the recording by topic name. Click the Recover button and confirm the request by clicking Recover.
    • What happens when I recover a recording from the Zoom cloud trash?
      • Recovered recordings that are 60 or more days old will be automatically put back in the trash after 24 hours.
    • Can I still play a recording that is in the trash?
      • No, a Zoom cloud recording in the Zoom cloud trash cannot be played.
    • Can I download a copy of a recording that is in the trash?
      • Yes, but you must first recover it from the trash first (see above) and then download it.
    • Can I move Zoom cloud recordings to the Zoom cloud trash in advance?
      • Yes. Visit your UD Zoom profile Recordings page. Make sure the Cloud Recordings tab is selected at the top.
      • Locate the recording by topic name. Click the More button and select Delete. This will move your recording to the Zoom cloud trash. It will be deleted in 30 days automatically.
    • Can I delete recordings in my Zoom cloud trash immediately?
      • Yes. Visit your UD Zoom profile Recordings Trash page. You should see a list of meeting recordings in the Zoom cloud trash.
      • On the right, click Empty Trash to permanently delete all recordings in your trash. This cannot be undone.

 

Share this post: