Skip to site content

Welcoming and Mentoring Students of Color


The committee is in early stages of forming and the mission will be further refined over the course of the next few meetings, but the committee is primarily focused on ensuring opportunities for student engagement (undergraduate and graduate) that are welcoming, inclusive and supportive and expanding access to supportive mentoring for students of color.


  • Concrete goals have not been set by this committee and will be generated during future meetings.


Committee members have opted not to identify a chair and will collaboratively share leadership and facilitation roles.
Lauren Camphausen will serve as the “Point of Contact” for the committee.
  • Zara Anishanslin (History)
  • Carolyn White Bartoo (Communications)
  • Ashkay Bhosale (Graduate Student Government, Diversity Committee)
  • Danielle Bing (History, Graduate Student)
  • Julie Brewer (Library, Museums & Press)
  • Alex Carel (Sociology/Criminal Justice/Psychology, Undergraduate Student)
  • Marissa Carrol (Health Behavior Science, Undergraduate Student)
  • Brian Channer (External)
  • Nathan Elton (Career Services Center)
  • Jennifer Gregan (Lerner Business Economics)
  • Samantha Haltom (Criminal Justice, Graduate Student)
  • Christian Harris (Biological Sciences, Undergraduate Student)
  • Christina Johnston (Education & Human Development)
  • Kathleen Kerr (Student Life)
  • Eirini Kilikian (Mathematical Sciences)
  • Samuel Kowalchick (History Education, Undergraduate Student)
  • Jennifer Kubota (Psychological and Brain Sciences)
  • Alissa Leung (Public Policy, Undergraduate Student)
  • Helen Mach (Communication Sciences & Disorders, Postdoc)
  • Joanna Martin (Office of Academic Enrichment)
  • Sarah Meadows (IT Strategic Operations)
  • Kasandra Moye (Center for Black Culture, Representative)
  • Emmanuel Ogbonna (Molecular Biology & Genetics, PhD Student)
  • Graciela Perez (Criminology, PhD Student)
  • Tiffany Probasco (English)
  • Charlie Riordan (Research Office)
  • Ellen Schenk (Biden School Master’s of Public Policy, Graduate Student)
  • Gilberto Schleiniger (Mathematical Sciences)
  • Nikolas Schonsheck (History Education, Undergraduate Student)
  • Sowmya Shankar (IT Enterprise Cloud & Services)
  • Monet Timmons (English, Graduate Student)
  • Jim Tweedy (Residence Life & Housing)