Information in this section has been retained for historical purposes and should not be considered viable resources.

Research, Achievements and Honors


  • Stephanie Law has received the the North America Molecular Beam Epitaxy (NAMBE) Young Investigator Award.
  • Lori Pollock and colleagues have been awarded a $300,000 “Improving Undergraduate STEM Education’’ grant from the National Science Foundation (NSF) to explore ways to incorporate computational reasoning into undergraduate courses at UD.
  • Lori Pollock has been named Alumni Distinguished Professor in the Department of Computer and Information Sciences.
  • Hui Fang has been named the David L. and Beverly J.C. Mills Chair in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering.
  • Millie Sullivan and Kristi Kiick have received a $1.4 million award from the NIH to study the treatment of chronic wounds.
  • Mary Dozier has received the 2016 Francis Alison Faculty Award.
  • Jia Song has been awarded an NSF Career award.
  • Erica Armstrong Dunbar has been named the Blue and Gold Professor of Black American Studies and History.
  • Jenni Buckley has been awarded the E. Arthur Trabant Award for Women’s Equity.
  • Catherine Grimes has been awarded an NSF Career award.
  • Lisa Jaremka has been recognized by the Association for Psychological Science (APS) as  “Rising Star.”
  • Tania Roth has been selected by the University’s Francis Alison Society to receive the 2015 Gerard J. Mangone Young Scholars Award.
  • Lori Pollock has been awarded the SIGSOFT Influential Educator Award for mentoring of undergraduate and graduate students, innovation in software engineering education, and educational research.
  • Lesa Griffiths has been named the T.A. Baker Professor in the College of Agriculture and Natural Resources.
  • Yan Jin has been presented the 2015 Don and Betty Kirkham Soil Physics Award by the Soil Science Society of America
  • Rachel Davidson has been selected for the Executive Leadership in Academic Technology and Engineering (ELATE at Drexel) program’s Class of 2015-16 fellows.
advancegraph1 As a precursor to the ADVANCE grant, a faculty climate survey was run at UD to collect data on topics including promotion and tenure, evaluation, merit, workload, family-friendly policies, mentoring and career satisfaction, with the aim of understanding campus climate for all full-time faculty at UD. Over half the faculty responded to the survey, and the team noted that the profile of the respondents corresponded roughly with the demographics of the University population as a whole.>> Read More
Screen Shot 2014-12-11 at 10.50.05 AM The University of Delaware has been awarded $3.3 million from the National Science Foundation (NSF) to develop a program that will serve as a national model for diversifying and strengthening the academic workforce. UD is one of only four universities in 2014 to receive NSF’s prestigious ADVANCE Institutional Transformation (IT) grant. The five-year program at UD is research driven and aims to support University administrators as change agents, to improve transparency in policies and procedures, and especially to mentor women faculty to advance through the ranks and into senior leadership positions. >> Read More