UDARF news at a glance

Next Event: My Intellectual Journey Series

When: Thursday, Nov. 16, 2017, 4:00 p.m. (Wine and cheese reception to follow talk)
Speaker: Dr. M. Sandra Carberry, Professor Emerita of Computer and Information Sciences, UD
Topic: No One is an Island
Where: Courtyard by Marriott – Newark
Reservations: There is no charge and no reservation form for this event.

About Dr. Carberry: A member of the UD faculty since 1970, Dr. M. Sandra Carberry is currently Professor Emerita, Computer and Information Sciences, where she also served as Chair and Professor. She also held a joint appointment in the Dept of Linguistics since 1985. Previously, she was a Member of Technical Staff at Bell Labs.

During her UD career, she was awarded over $3M in research grants as PI and co-PI and published widely in refereed journals and in book chapters. Her most recent research interests include natural language understanding and response generation, user modeling and dialog systems. Dr. Carberry received UD’s Excellence in Teaching Award in 1993.

She served on many computer science and computational linguistics journals’ editorial boards. Among others, these include the International Journal of User Modeling and User-Adapted Interaction, Computational Linguistics Journal, and International Journal of Human-Computer Studies.

Our Next UDARF Luncheon

When: Tuesday, Dec. 5, 2017, 11:30 a.m.
Speaker: Dr. Michael D. Greenberg, Professor Emeritus, Mechanical Engineering , UD
Topic: From Neurons to Matisse
Where: 120 Clayton Hall
Reservations: Must be made online. Click here to reserve. 

Checks ($20 per luncheon attendee) payable to the University of Delaware are due at the door. No cash nor credit/debit cards, please! Without a reservation, seating is not guaranteed. The absolute deadline for luncheon registrations is Tuesday, Nov. 28, 2017, which is also the final date for canceling a reservation without charge. Be sure to note any dietary restrictions (vegetarian, vegan, gluten free, etc.) in the Comments box on the form.

January 2017 UDARF Newsletter
September 2017 Minutes 
of the UDARF Executive Committee

Email UDARF at UDARF1743@gmail.com

UDARF Officers, 2016-2018:

Marion Palley, Dick Sacher, Ron Martin, Jack O'Neill, Robert Taggart

Marian Palley, Dick Sacher, Ron Martin, Jack O’Neill, Robert Taggart

President: Marian Palley
Vice President: Ron Martin
Secretary: Dick Sacher
Treasurer: Jim O’Neill
Past President: Robert Taggart