Faculty Senate General Education Committee

General Education Committee

This committee shall recommend academic policies and standards for the General Education Program. It shall evaluate on a regular basis the implementation of the General Education Initiative and its goals. It shall also have the ability to develop and recommend new general education initiatives and to bring forward resolutions seeking to improve the ways in which the University fosters the goals of general education. This committee shall consist of 15 members, including the Provost or designee; a representative of the office of Educational Assessment; a Residence Life representative; an Undergraduate Studies Committee representative; two faculty representatives from the College of Arts and Sciences (one representing humanities and social sciences, the other representing natural and mathematical sciences); one faculty representative from each of the remaining colleges; one graduate student; and two undergraduate students. The faculty representatives will be different from faculty members serving on the Undergraduate Studies Committee, and they will be selected by the Committee on Committees and Nominations (COCAN). These representatives will serve two year terms, and they may be reappointed. One of the faculty representatives will be designated chairperson of the committee by COCAN. The chairperson of the Committee may request the appointment of up to two additional representatives of administrative offices (such as Admissions, Service Learning, Center for Teaching Effectiveness, Career Services, etc.) if such appointments would assist the committee in developing or evaluating particular general education initiatives. These additional representatives shall not have voting privileges.

Chair: Christopher Knight

Committee Members:

Marlene Emara emara@udel.edu 1344 Animal and Food Sciences 2018 AG
John Gizis gizis@udel.edu 2668 Physics & Astronomy 2017 AS
Kathleen Kerr kkerr@udel.edu 1201 Executive Director of Residence Life and Housing Student Life Representative
Christopher Knight caknight@udel.edu 6175 Kinesiology and Applied Physiology 2017 HS
Rusty Lee elee@udel.edu 831-6241 Civil and Environmental Engineering 2018 UGS Representative
Liao Li lliao@cis.udel.edu 3500 Computer and Information Sciences 2017 ENG
Lynn Okagaki okagaki@udel.edu 2101 Deputy Provost, University of Delaware Deputy Provost
Kathy Pusecker klp@udel.edu 8537 Office of Educational Assessment Educational Assessment Rep.
Eric Rise erise@udel.edu Sociology/Criminal Justice AS 2017
Mark Serva 41853@udel.edu 1795 B&E Accounting & MIS 2017 BE

Lynn Worden

Johnathan  Cohen

worden@udel.edu

 

jhcohen@udel.edu

1922

 

6454298

Human Development and Family Studies

Marine Studies

2017 EHD

 

2017 EOE

 

 

Comments are closed