General Education

This committee shall recommend academic policies and standards for the General Education Program. It shall evaluate on a regular basis the implementation of the General Education Initiative and its goals. It shall also have the ability to develop and recommend new general education initiatives and to bring forward resolutions seeking to improve the ways in which the University fosters the goals of general education.

This committee shall consist of 15 members, including the Provost or designee; a representative of the office of Educational Assessment; a Residence Life representative; an Undergraduate Studies Committee representative; two faculty representatives from the College of Arts and Sciences (one representing humanities and social sciences, the other representing natural and mathematical sciences); one faculty representative from each of the remaining colleges; one graduate student; and two undergraduate students.

The faculty representatives will be different from faculty members serving on the Undergraduate Studies Committee, and they will be selected by the Committee on Committees and Nominations (COCAN). These representatives will serve two year terms, and they may be reappointed. One of the faculty representatives will be designated chairperson of the committee by COCAN.

The chairperson of the Committee may request the appointment of up to two additional representatives of administrative offices (such as Admissions, Service Learning, Center for Teaching Effectiveness, Career Services, etc.) if such appointments would assist the committee in developing or evaluating particular general education initiatives. These additional representatives shall not have voting privileges.

Chair: Bob Opila

Committee Members:

Tony Seraphin
seraphin@udel.edu
302-831-1021
Mathematical Sciences
2019 AS

Kathleen Kerr
kkerr@udel.edu
302-831-1201
Executive Director of Residence Life and Housing
Student Life Representative

Jeff Schneider
schneid@udel.edu
302-831-4107
Kinesiology & Applied Physiology
2019 HS

Rusty Lee
elee@udel.edu
302-831-831-6241
Civil and Environmental Engineering
2018 UGS Representative

Bob Opila
opila@udel.edu
302-831-3128
Materials Science and Engineering
2019 ENG   Chair

Lynn Okagaki
okagaki@udel.edu
302-831-2101
Deputy Provost, University of Delaware
Deputy Provost

Kathy Pusecker
klp@udel.edu
302-831-8537
Office of Educational Assessment
Educational Assessment Rep.

Eric Rise
erise@udel.edu
302-831-8679
Sociology/Criminal Justice
As 2019

Ali Poorani
poorani@udel.edu
302-831-6353
Hospitality Business Management
2019 BE

Ruth Fleury-Steiner
rfs@udel.edu
302-831-8560
Human Development and Family Studies
2019 EHD

Tara Trammell
ttram@udel.edu
302-831-1387
Plant & Soil Sciences
2019 CANR

Tracy DeLibety
tracyd@udel.edu
302-831-4084
Geography
2019 EOE

David Maisson
dmaisson@udel.edu
Graduate Student Representative