Faculty Welfare and Privileges

This committee is charged to develop and review general policies in the areas of reappointment, dismissal, faculty evaluation and appraisal, academic freedom and other areas of personnel policy and conditions of faculty employment, and to prepare recommendations concerning such policies for transmission to the Trustees through the faculty or its Senate, and through the President of the University, in accordance with Trustee Bylaws.

This committee is charged with jurisdiction over faculty complaints which are not grievances as defined in the Collective Bargaining Agreement. Procedures for mediation and hearing of complaints are detailed in the FWP Termination and Complaint Procedures which were approved by the University Faculty Senate on 12 January 2015 and are maintained in the office of the University Faculty Senate.

The committee’s decisions on complaints are presented as advisory opinions to the Provost.

This committee shall consist of seven faculty members, one of whom shall be designated chair and one of whom shall be an assistant professor.

Nothing in the charge to this committee shall be interpreted as overriding the Collective Bargaining Agreement or the laws of the State of Delaware governing collective bargaining.

Chair: Jeff Jordan

Committee Members:

Stacy Chirnside
aemc@udel.edu
302-831-8871
Entomology and Wildlife Ecology
2018 Assistant Professor

Araya Debessay
debessay@udel.edu
302-831-6890
Accounting and MIS
2019

Nancy Getchell
getchell@udel.edu
302-831-6682
Kinesiology & Applied Physiology
2018

Jeffrey Jordan
jjjordan@udel.edu
302-831-8207
Philosophy
2018  Chair

John Madsen
jmadsen@udel.edu
302-831-1608
Geology
2018 Co-Chair

Jean Pfaelzer
pfaelzer@udel.edu
302-831-6722
English
2019

Herbert Tanner
btanner@udel.edu
302-831-6888
Mechanical Engineering
2018