Cultural Activities and Public Events

It should be the objective of the Cultural Activities and Public Events Committee to foster, encourage and coordinate throughout the University programs of local, national, and world significance that illuminate, explain, articulate, or are a creative part of the cultures of mankind. The committee shall work with any and all agencies of the University specifically to sponsor, direct, or advise on programs which bring to the University notable and creative figures in scholarship, presentations, art exhibits, and media productions, or any presentation that reflects upon the University’s obligation to foster and contribute to the cultural life of the community and the world.

The Cultural Activities and Public Events Committee will meet and will have the specific responsibility of establishing a budget. The Committee will select from its membership a fiscal agent who will have oversight of expenditures. The fiscal agent should have knowledge of the University’s accounting system and have direct access to secretarial support.

The Cultural Activities and Public Events Committee shall consist of: eight faculty members, two to represent art, two to represent the performing arts, two to represent visiting scholars and speakers, and two to represent films, one of whom shall be appointed as chairperson; two undergraduate students; a graduate student; and an appointee of the Vice President for Student Life.

Chair: Christine DelBeau

Committee Members:

Jesus Botello jbotello@udel.edu 6111 Languages, Literatures and Cultures 2018
Scott Mason avenger@udel.edu  1403 Student Center Designee
Michael Cotsell mcotsell@udel.edu 2361  English 2019
Christine Delbeau delbeau@udel.edu 6288 Music Department 2018
Jacqueline Fajardo jfajardo@udel.edu 2946 Chemistry and Biochemistry 2018
Pablo Huq huq@udel.edu 1151 School of Marine Science and Policy 2018
Ashley Pigford design@udel.edu 1196 Art     Committee Co-Chair
2018
Stefanie Hansen shansen@udel.edu 6410 Theatre 2019
Ashar Khan azkhan@udel.edu Graduate Student Representative 2018
Sophie Elliott sophelli@udel.edu Undergraduate Student Representative 2018
Radhika Malhotra malhotra@udel.edu Undergraduate Student Representative 2018