There are many important things for you to know if you would like to drive in Delaware. We have placed some of that information on this website so that you can be as prepared as possible for this responsibility.
- Make sure you have a valid driver’s license:
How to get a Delaware driver’s license
- Register your car in Delaware:
If you buy a car:
– You must register the car in your name in Delaware within 60 days.
– The car must pass inspection.
– You must have car insurance.
- Be aware of important safety information:
- Everyone in the car must wear a seat belt at all times.
- Children younger than 12 must not sit in the front seat.
- Children younger than 7 years old or less than 65 lbs (30 kg) must sit in a “booster seat” to keep the seat belt from hurting them in an accident.
- Small children less than 40 pounds must be buckled into a car seat.
- Small babies must face the back of the seat.
- Be sure you know how to use the car’s safety belts to attach the car seat. Be sure your child is safely locked into the seat.
- It is against the law to text on your cell phone while you are driving.
- You can only talk on your cell phone if you have a “hands-free” attachment (speakerphone, headset, BlueTooth system, etc.)
- If you need to use your phone, stop and park your car first.